Remembering the Queen and celebrating Commonwealth voices

As we mourn the death of Queen Elizabeth II and welcome King Charles III to the throne, we at IDEA are reminded of the enormous variety, diversity, and cultural wealth of the voices of the Commonwealth. We are proud to feature 463 of these voices from the nations of the Commonwealth: the United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales), Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia.

Regardless of your thoughts on the Commonwealth, and the Monarchy itself, let’s celebrate all these voices.

If a state listed above is not linked to an IDEA page, that means we are still searching for its first voice. If you are from one of these places, please consider submitting your voice to IDEA.

(Please note that 15 Commonwealth states had Queen Elizabeth (and now King Charles) as their head of state, five have their own monarch, and the rest are republics. However, all states recognize the British monarch as head of the Commonwealth.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
3 − 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!